Your Account Shopping Cart Help Contact Us
Greece In Print
The World’s Greek Literary Connection  

Click on Image for a larger view
The Passport and Other Selected Short Stories
The Modern Greek Literature Library
By Samarakis, Antonis

Translated by: Horton, Andrew

List Price $17.20 / 13.59 euro
Our Price $12.04 / 9.51 euro    You save $5.16 / 4.08 euro

Availability: Usually ships in 24 hours

Format: Softcover (110 Pages)     
Language: English       Also Available in: Greek

Antonis Samarakis (1919-2003) was modern Greece's most widely translated writer after Nikos Kazantzakis. He published four collections of short stories and two novels beginning in 1954. His novel, To Lathos (The Flaw) has been translated into over twenty languages. Graham Greene called this novel, “A real masterpiece. A story of the psychological struggle between two secret police agents and their suspect told with wit, imagination and quite outstanding technical skill.” Arthur Miller wrote that, “The Flaw is a powerful work. I only wish some people who profess democracy would read The Flaw and see what it is they actually support. We are living in a time when words and their substance are very unrelated-to the point of meaninglessness. And this is not only in the question of Greece.”

Samarakis's short stories were equally well received at home and abroad, and this collection brings together eight of his finest stories including “The Last Participation”, “Mama”, “The Knife”, and “The Passport” which he wrote during the period of the Dictatorship of 1967-75 when he was denied a passport to travel abroad.

Table of Contents
The Last Participation
Anatomy Lesson, Etc.
The Last Trick
The Knife
Against the Grain
The Conquest
The Passport
The Craft and Reality of Antonis Samarakis's The Passport

ISBN : 9781932455137 (2006)
Dimensions: 140x210 mm

Hellenica, Heritage and History
You Can Realize Your Dream
Τα Πρώτα μου Χρόνια

Home | Books | Music | Video | Art | Magazines | Newspapers | e-books
Our customer service phone is (201) 666-7374
Terms and Conditions of Use | Privacy Statement
Our e-mail address is:
Copyright © 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004