Kyriakos Charalambides

Δεν ορίστηκε εικόνα

KYRIAKOS CHARALAMBIDES (1940–) was born in Cyprus. He studied history and archaeology at the University of Athens and subsequently specialized in radio studies in Munich. He taught literature in secondary education and for thirty years worked for the Cyprus Broadcasting Corporation, acting for a time as director of radio programming.

Charalambides has published ten collections of poetry: First Source (1961); The Water’s Ignorance (1967); The Vase with Designs (1973), Achaeans’ Shore (1977), and Famagusta Reigning City (1982), each awarded the Cyprus State Prize for Poetry; Dome (1989), awarded the Athens Academy Prize; Meta-history (1995), awarded the Greek State Prize for Poetry; Dokímin (2000); Aiyaloussa Visited (2003); and Quince Apple (2006).

He has been awarded the Hellenic Society of Literary Translators Prize, the International Cavafy Award, and the Costas and Eleni Ouranis Prize for his entire poetic oeuvre.