Retail Price: $16,95
Sales price: $13.46
(Savings: $2,00)
Available: Shipped in 1-3 working days.

The Passport and Other Selected Short Stories


Antonis Samarakis (1919-2003) was modern Greece's most widely translated writer after Nikos Kazantzakis. He published four collections of short stories and two novels beginning in 1954. His novel, To Lathos (The Flaw) has been translated into over twenty languages. Graham Greene called this novel, "A real masterpiece. A story of the psychological struggle between two secret police agents and their suspect told with wit, imagination and quite outstanding technical skill." Arthur Miller wrote that, "The Flaw is a powerful work. I only wish some people who profess democracy would read The Flaw and see what it is they actually support. We are living in a time when words and their substance are very unrelated-to the point of meaninglessness. And this is not only in the question of Greece." Samarakis's short stories were equally well received at home and abroad, and this collection brings together eight of his finest stories including "The Last Participation", "Mama", "The Knife", and "The Passport" which he wrote during the period of the Dictatorship of 1967-75 when he was denied a passport to travel abroad. Table of Contents The Last Participation Anatomy Lesson, Etc. Mama The Last Trick The Knife Against the Grain The Conquest The Passport The Craft and Reality of Antonis Samarakis's The Passport

Category: Short Stories
Code: 10032
ISBN: 9781932455137
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 111
Publication Date: 2006
Publisher: Cosmos Publishing
Published In: Greece
Translator: Andrew Horton
Language: English